Guest bedroom

There are five levels of quality assessment for guest accommodation ranging from One to Five Stars. To obtain a higher Star rating progressively higher quality standards should be provided across all areas with particular emphasis in five key areas

  • cleanliness
  • hospitality
  • breakfast
  • bedrooms
  • bathrooms.

At the highest levels of quality, some additional and appropriate facilities and services are expected in addition to the very best in guest care.

The phrases such as ‘good’, ‘very good’ etc signify ascending levels of quality in broad terms only. These standards indicate typical consumer expectations of each star level. They are neither prescriptive nor definitive because we recognise the wide variety of quality elements that can be included – for example, style, which can range from traditional to minimalist.

What is Quality?

When we are assessing quality we take into account the following:

  • intrinsic quality – the inherent value of an item.
  • condition – the maintenance and appearance of an item. Is it fit for the purpose?
  • physical and personal comfort – does the quality or lack of an item detract in any way from the comfort of the guest?
  • attention to detail – the evident care taken to ensure that the guest experience is special and offer the same high standards for all guests.
  • guest choice and ease of use – the guest experience is enhanced through choice – be it the choice of beverages in his/her room or the choice of room temperature. This is further improved by how usable the guest finds the room and its contents.
  • presentation – the way the room and its contents are presented for guests’ arrival and during their stay.